• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LikedIn

Mary Frances Leahy

Mary Frances' Story :

Hello! My name is Mary Frances Leahy and I am thirteen years old.

I live on a beef farm in Douro, Ontario with my parents, six younger siblings and my Border Collie, Frank.

Growing up with Natalie MacMaster and Donnell Leahy as parents, there has always been music in our house.

We tour every year and have lots of fun, but fitting school into our busy lives is challenging, so homeschooling fits naturally.  People ask me if I wish I went to a public school or if I miss out on things because of homeschooling- I definitely don’t! There is always lots on the go.

Some of my hobbies include soccer, swimming, cooking, baking, sewing and horseback-riding.  I began playing the fiddle when I was three. My mom and dad were my first teachers and still help me out a lot, but I have since started taking lessons from some other musicians to broaden my style.  I learned step-dancing at a very young age as well, first taught by my grandmother.  Even though I began with the Cape Breton style of step-dancing, I now dance mostly Ottawa Valley style, which traces it’s roots to logging camps in that region years ago.  I also play piano and am taking my RCM Grade 8 exam soon.

I enjoy travelling and especially like performing on stage. It’s amazing the energy you feel when you have an enthusiastic audience.  There’s a rush of excitement that gets you into the music even more. Having a great band is also very important to delivering a good show and I am so lucky to be able to perform with such amazing musicians. I feel very privileged to have so much help from my parents, and I’m thankful they passed on their music to me